

Empowering the Future: 2025 Scholarships Awarded

Coweta-Fayette EMC's commitment to our communities reaches beyond providing reliable, affordable electricity — it extends to investing in the future of our youth. This year, we are proud to award scholarships to outstanding local students who are pursuing higher education and preparing to become tomorrow's leaders.

These scholarships are made possible through the generosity of our members who participate in Operation Round Up, where monthly bills are rounded up to the

Melissa Segars Scholarship Recipients:

Sidney Brown - Northgate High School Matthew Carr - East Coweta High School Anderson Embry -Trinity Christian School Grace Faison - Coram Deo Classical School Lily Fox - East Coweta High School Lauren Griffin - East Coweta High School Briana Harris-Otero - Starr's Mill High School Kate Howell - Newnan High School Ryan Mayclin - East Coweta High School Caroline Mayfield - Coram Deo Classica School Caleb Murray - Northgate High School Olivia Nguyen - Northgate High School Nathaly Rangel-Gonzalez - Fayette County High School Chloe Smith - East Coweta High School Katelyn Sullivan - Newnan High School Jared White - Sandy Creek High School Ava Woodward - East Coweta High School

nearest dollar. While each contribution may seem small, the collective impact is profound — turning spare change into real opportunities for students in our area in the form of \$54,000 in scholarships!

This reflects the true spirit of cooperation and community. By working together, our members are helping shape a brighter future — one student at a time. A few cents can make a big difference, and we thank every member who plays a part in empowering the next generation.

Tech/Trade School Scholarship Recipients:



Tucker Hopkins Shelton State Community College



Jennifer Wilson

West Georgia

Technical College



Vo Yen Vy West Georgia Technical College

Walter Harrison Scholarship Recipient:

Congratulations to **Alexis Wingenbach** of Northgate High School, 2025 Georgia EMC Walter Harrison Scholarship recipient. This \$1,000 scholarship is sponsored by Georgia EMC and is named in tribute to Mr. Walter Harrison, a pioneer in the rural electricity movement and leader at the local, state, and national levels in the electric cooperative program.



A COOLER HOME STARTS WITH A CFEMC HOME ENERGY AUDIT

As temperatures rise, let us help you find ways to lower your energy use! Contact us today for a home energy audit - a unique benefit of being a CFEMC member!

Call to determine if a home energy audit is right for you. 770-502-0226

Upcoming Board Election

From the Bylaws of CFEMC:

Article III Directors 3.05 Nominations by Nominating Committee It shall be the duty of the Board to appoint, not less than forty-five (45) days before the date of the meeting of the members at which board members are to be elected, a committee on nominations consisting of not less than five (5) nor more than eleven (11) members who shall be selected so as to give equitable representation to the geographical areas served by the Cooperative. No member of the Board may serve on such committee. Written notice of the names of the members of the committee and meeting date for the committee shall be provided to the members prior to such meeting. It shall be the duty of the nominating committee to meet not less than forty-five (45) days prior to such meeting and to nominate one or more candidates for each seat on the Board of Directors that is to be filled at such meeting.

3.06 Nominations by Petition

Other nominations for such elections may be made by written petition signed by not less than fifteen (15) members, which shall be submitted to the Secretary of the Cooperative or his/her designee not less than forty-five (45) days prior to such meeting.

3.07 Notice of Nominees

The Secretary shall be responsible for posting at headquarters of the Cooperative the nominees for each seat made by the nominating committee and by petition and shall provide written notice thereof to the members by separate written notice according to the rules and procedures promulgated by the Board of Directors.

The following Nominating Committee was appointed by the Board of Directors at their regular meeting held May 27, 2025. This committee will meet Aug. 6, 2025, and prepare a list of nominations to be posted at the EMC office at least 45 days before the Annual Meeting on Oct. 7, 2025.

The Directors who Intend to Seek Re-election:

Therol R. Brown Seat 1 : Fayette County Daniel C. Langford, Jr. Seat 2: Fayette County

J. Neal Shepard, Jr. Seat 1: Coweta County

2025 Nominating Committee

Irene Edwards Fayetteville, Ga. **Richard R. Harp** Fayetteville, Ga.

Fran McElwaney Brooks, Ga.

Brad Nolen Newnan, Ga.

Lorey Spohr Fayetteville, Ga.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

J. Neal Shepard, Jr., Chairman • Ross Henry, Vice Chairman • Daniel C. Langford, Jr., Secretary-Treasurer Therol Brown • James W. Fulton, III • Donald E. Harris • James Lee Hunter • Alice J. Mallory • Mildred A. Winkles Coweta-Fayette EMC is an equal opportunity provider and employer /M/F/Y/D

Together, We Power Futures—And Our Cooperative

At Coweta-Fayette EMC, one of our greatest strengths is you, our members. Unlike investor-owned utilities, we're a not-for-profit cooperative, which means the people we serve aren't just customers; you're also owners. And as owners, you have both a voice



Chris Stephens CFO

and a vote in how we operate. That's the heart of the cooperative difference, and this month, we have a few great reminders of what that looks like in action.

First, let's celebrate the inspiring group of local graduates featured in this issue. These students received scholarships through our Operation Round Up program. That's a powerful example of how just a few cents each month, pooled together from thousands of generous members, can make a big difference in the lives of others. Since its inception, Operation Round Up has helped us invest in students, teachers, nonprofits, fire departments, and more. That strengthens the very fabric of our communities.

If you've ever wondered whether your spare change matters, just look at the futures you've helped fuel. These scholarships represent more than financial assistance; they're a vote of confidence in tomorrow's leaders, healthcare professionals, educators, and innovators. Thank you for being part of that.

But the impact of your involvement doesn't stop there. As a cooperative, we are governed by a board of directors elected by you, the members. Your participation in our annual meeting and board election process is one of the most important ways you shape the direction of our co-op. It ensures your values and priorities are represented and that we stay true to our mission of providing reliable and affordable energy solutions.

Please keep an eye on Powerlines, our website (utility.org), and our social media for details about this year's annual meeting. It's your opportunity to learn more about the cooperative's performance and have your voice heard. Please take the time to cast your vote. These are the moments that remind us why being part of a cooperative is so powerful; we get to build our future together.

Thank you for being an active and engaged member of CFEMC. Whether it's rounding up your bill or casting your vote, your involvement fuels progress for our entire community.

And once again, congratulations to our scholarship recipients; we can't wait to see what they do next.

Tommy Matthews Fayetteville, Ga.

> **Don Spaller** Brooks, Ga.