Coweta-Fayette EMC Presents GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award to East Coweta High School, Fayette County High School, and Newnan High School

Nov 21, 2023

PALMETTO, GA, November 21, 2023 – Coweta-Fayette EMC (CFEMC) is proud to be among Georgia’s Electric Membership Cooperatives who help shape the future of the local community by sponsoring the Georgia High School Association Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award, which honors GHSA member schools throughout the state that exhibit outstanding sportsmanship during competitive events throughout the school year.

Since 2006, the GHSA and Georgia’s EMCs, including CFEMC, have sponsored the Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award which reinforces the GHSA philosophy: “Students, athletes, coaches, spectators and all others associated with high school activities and programs should adhere to the fundamental values of respect, fairness, honesty and responsibility.”

For the 2022-2023 school year, three CFEMC area schools were selected as award recipients to include East Coweta High School, Fayette County High School, and Newnan High School.

CFEMC presented the award to East Coweta High School (ECHS) Principal Steve Allen and Athletic Director Lee Heaberlin on Thursday, November 9, where they expressed their appreciation for being selected again as an award recipient. (East Coweta High School received the award in 2020-2021).

Fayette County High School (FCHS) Athletic Director Ashley Lott accepted the award on behalf of FCHS during a Friday night boys’ varsity basketball game on November 17, presented by CFEMC’s Integrated Communications Coordinator Rachel Camp.

During Newnan High School’s kickoff basketball game on November 14, held at the new Max Bass Athletic Complex, CFEMC’s CEO Chris Stephens presented the award to Newnan High School’s Principal Gamal Kemp and Athletic Director Randy Robbins. CFEMC Board Chairman Neal Shepard, along with CFEMC Consumer Accounting Representative Abby Adams and CFEMC Customer Service Representative Savannah Staples, assisted with the award presentation.

“On behalf of the employees of Coweta-Fayette EMC and our family members, many of which attended these local area high schools, we want to congratulate East Coweta High School, Fayette County High School and Newnan High School on receiving this prestigious award,” said Stephens.

Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards are presented annually to the GHSA-member high schools in the 64 regions from the eight classifications by EMC representatives during fall athletic events and school assemblies. These high schools displayed exemplary sportsmanship across a variety of athletics, ranging from student athletes to spectators.

As corporate sponsors of high school athletics in the state, Georgia’s EMCs are excited for another season of action. Coweta-Fayette EMC wishes all our student-athletes the best of luck in 2023-2024!

Coweta-Fayette EMC is a member-owned cooperative providing electricity and related services to over 80,000 consumers in Clayton, Coweta, Fayette, Fulton, Heard, Meriwether, Spalding, and Troup counties.