Local Electric Co-op Celebrates 65 Years of Member Service

Jul 4, 2014

Palmetto, GA – October 17, 2012 – Coweta-Fayette EMC honored over 3,000 consumers and family members with a milestone celebration during its 65th Annual Meeting and Member Appreciation Day Oct. 13 at cooperative headquarters in Palmetto.


With regard to EMC history, CEO Anthony “Tony” Sinclair told audience members during his speech that although the co-op has experienced significant growth since its formation in 1945— a consumer-base of less than 700 member accounts has increased to over 74,000— the commitment to service excellence provided at inception has continued unchanged.


“It all started with neighbors helping neighbors to improve their quality of life by having access to electricity, and this way of doing business remains a constant for your EMC,” he said.


The co-op festivities featured midway games, arts and crafts, EMC information stations, a photo booth, prize drawings, health screenings by Piedmont Newnan and Piedmont Fayette Hospitals and toe-tapping music from Alvarado Road Show. To commemorate 65 years of cooperative power, history/recipe books titled From Rural Sparks to Powerlines, Coweta-Fayette EMC 1945-2012 were handed out with a grilling set upon guest registration.


Consumers of Coweta-Fayette EMC Natural Gas were also in the running for a gas grill, and Relyco Security Resources (an EMC subsidiary) held a drawing for a year’s free security system monitoring. The grand prize for this year’s meeting was a $1,000 electric bill credit. In addition to these items, one lucky child received a $50 gift card.


During the business meeting, W.L. Clements and Alice Mallory ran unopposed and were declared winners of the board election. Incumbent Mildred Winkles was opposed by James W. “Jimmy” Beavers and re-elected by a majority of votes. All winners will serve another three-year term.


Coweta-Fayette EMC is a consumer-owned cooperative providing electricity and related services to over 74,000 member accounts in Coweta, Fayette, Heard, South Fulton, Clayton, Spalding, Troup and Meriwether Counties.