Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award Given to Fayette County High School

Sep 28, 2017

(Palmetto, 9/28/17) — You don’t have to look far in today’s society to see multiple examples of lacking civility throughout most days. Coarseness, lack of empathy for neighbors and a general loss of respect for others can be found on any television channel or in any news headline. And while the younger generation often bears the brunt of this accusation, Georgia high schools are leading the way in changing that perception with multiple examples of sportsmanship in competition.

In fact, Georgia’s EMCs, including Coweta-Fayette EMC, are proud to once again announce the winners of the 2016-2017 Georgia High School Association Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards.

“Good sportsmanship is a key component of athletics,” says Chellie Phillips with C-F EMC. “Treating others with respect and dignity is what distinguishes a good team from a great team. Whether they win or lose, it’s important these students handle the outcome with class and don’t let competition get in the way of behaving as responsible, honest and humble young adults.”

C-F EMC, along with the other EMCs in Georgia, have presented the Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award each year since 2006 to emphasize, encourage and reward positive behavior in athletics.

To be considered for recognition, students, athletes, coaches, spectators and anyone else associated with high school activities programs must display respect, fairness, honesty and responsibility before, during and after competition.

“Congratulations to all of the region winners of the GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award for 2016-2017,” says Dr. Robin Hines, GHSA Executive Director. “It is an honor for these member schools to be selected by their regions for this award. The characteristics of good sportsmanship are critical to the development of our young people as they transition into productive adults. The GHSA applauds our schools on this accomplishment and appreciates Georgia’s EMCs for their support of this outstanding recognition program.”

Schools such as Fayette County High School have shown integrity across a variety of athletics, including many groups, ranging from students, coaches, parents, spectators and officials. The Award also extends to anyone involved with the athletic event, making this an honor that is shared by both the school and the community.

“I’m proud to be the principal of a school where students do show cooperative spirit,” Dr. Daniel Lane, principal of Fayette County High School, said. “We use athletics as a vehicle to train young men and women. The skills they learn are something they can carry with them to be more successful as adults. I’m proud of all our students, whether they are athletes or in the student body. We have a great group of students that support our athletes. It’s just great to see the Tiger pride in action.”

Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards are presented annually by EMC representatives during fall athletic events and school assemblies to GHSA-member high schools in 56 regions and seven classifications.

C-F EMC is a consumer-owned cooperative providing electricity and related services to 82,000 accounts in Coweta, Fayette, Clayton, Heard, Fulton, Meriwether, Spalding and Troup counties.

Founded in 1904, the GHSA is a voluntary, non-profit organization comprised of more than 460 public and private high schools that strives to promote good sportsmanship, participant safety, fair play and a cooperative spirit among its member schools. The GHSA administers regulations for region and state competition in 17 sports and two activities. For more information, visit

Winners of the 2016-2017 Georgia EMC Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award are:

Regions-AAAAAAA (7-A)                                    

Region-1 – Lowndes High School

Region-2 – Campbell High School

Region-3 – Hillgrove High School

Region-4 – Lassiter High School

Region-5 – Forsyth Central High School

Region-6 – Mountain View High School

Region-7 – Meadowcreek High School

Region-8 – Archer High School


Regions-AAAAAA (6-A)                                    

Region-1 – Coffee County High School

Region-2 – Bradwell Institute

Region-3 – Heritage (Conyers) High School

Region-4 – Forest Park High School

Region-5 – Tri-City High School

Region-6 – Harrison High School

Region-7 – Pope High School

Region-8 – Apalachee High School

Regions-AAAAA (5-A)

Region-1 – Thomas County Central High School

Region-2 – Statesboro High School

Region-3 – Fayette County High School

Region-4 – Hampton High School

Region-5 – Chamblee High School

Region-6 – Riverwood High School

Region-7 – Cass High School

Region-8 – Johnson (Gainesville) High School

Regions-AAAA (4-A)

Region-1 – Americus-Sumter High School

Region-2 – Upson-Lee High School

Region-3 – Richmond Academy

Region-4 – Salem High School

Region-5 – Central CarrolltonHigh School

Region-6 – Southeast Whitfield High School

Region-7 – Chestatee High School

Region-8 – St. Pius X High School

Regions-AAA (3-A)

Region-1 – Worth County High School

Region-2 – Tattnall County High School

Region-3 – Savannah High School

Region-4 – Peach County High School

Region-5 – McNair High School

Region-6 – Lakeview-Ft. Oglethorpe High School

Region-7 – Union County High School

Region-8 – Monroe Area High School

Regions-AA (2-A)

Region-1 – Thomasville High School

Region-2 – Bacon County High School

Region-3 – Bleckley County High School

Region-4 – Jefferson County High School

Region-5 – Heard County High School

Region-6 – South Atlanta High School

Region-7 – Gordon Central High School

Region-8 – Banks County High School

Regions-A (1-A)

Region-1 – Webster County High School

Region-2 – Clinch County High School

Region-3 – Jenkins County High School

Region-4 – Dooly County High School

Region-5 – Galloway School

Region-6 – Christian Heritage School

Region-7 – Lake Oconee Academy

Region-8 – Providence Christian School

Coweta-Fayette EMC is proud to announce Fayette County High School is the 5A – Region 3 winner of the 2016-2017 Georgia High School Association Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards. Receiving the award are: Jekobe Coleman, sophomore football and basketball athlete; Rachel Gomes, senior cross country and track athlete; and Dr. Daniel Lane, principal of Fayette County High School.